What Triggered my Wedding Diet?

On one of my wedding gown fittings at a well-known bridal boutique in Beirut, Lebanon, I was on my 2nd dress trial and I was supposed to choose The Dress. After deciding on the dress I adored, I was admiring myself in the mirror when the sales lady shared her opinion on the dress, “I personally think this dress suites you most; my colleagues and I were discussing your dress and your body the other day and we all agreed that your figure is disproportional, you have huge hips too so you need a dress to hide it all, so you need raffles and layers to cover your form.” I just stood there speechless and didn’t utter a word.

To begin with, I have an average body; I wear a size 38 which meant she was just blabbering for the sake of it. A sales lady at a bridal boutique should be a bit more sensitive to the feelings of a bride and her opinion should be a bit more positive; she could have said, “You look great in this dress, it fits great and accentuates your curves.” I don’t want to know if the sales ladies were gossiping about me or if I look big in the dress. I lost interest right away in the dress; I practically hated it and never went back. It’s important to feel comfortable with the bridal boutique you deal with. They should make you feel like a princess, especially when you are choosing the most important dress you’ll ever wear.

To me, well I looked at the bright side of what happened. I started my beauty regimen and healthy eating. I was working out 4 times a week, running by the beach after work. As I work, I usually ordered a sandwich or hamburger for lunch; I transformed my diet; I was having a salad and proteins for lunch; fruits as a snack and started drinking plenty of water. As a result, I was in shape, fit and my skin was radiating by the wedding day.

To all you brides-to-be, you don’t need a sales lady to give you the wake up call. You need to start your beauty regimen and be fit for this day. Here is a 6 month wedding fitness plan from theknot.com (http://is.gd/H3QRnS) to help you look and feel great on your big day.

Leave a comment