Wedding Planner.. or Not

As a bride to be your main sources of information are: a wedding planner, ex-brides, and the internet. Make sure you utilize ex-brides and the internet to the max; every bride wants to tell her story (which explains what I’m doing ;)) and the internet was my ultimate source of inspiration. You have Pinterest, Blogs and 10000s of websites. I’ll share a few as we go by.

A wedding planner is essential when you are throwing a wedding of minimum 350 persons; when the venue is complicated and you want to construct it from scratch; when you want horses and carriages and a ballroom like the one Cinderella forgot her slipper at. If you want to keep it simple and controlled, you can do it on your own. You will definitely need a few tools & excel sheets to stay organized and on top of all the details.

As I had a full time job and worked from 8 am till 6 pm; I was only free on Saturday morning to run around and work on the wedding. That was the main reason why I got a wedding planner. I didn’t want to be overwhelmed by wedding details and drive everyone crazy. I wanted my bridesmaids and family to enjoy the wedding and not get involved in wedding planning.

Now when I reflect back on my decision to hire a wedding planner, I believe my decision was wrong. I didn’t need a wedding planner in the 1st place because a simple wedding doesn’t need a wedding planner. A very important note a lot of brides tend to forget, your bridesmaids and family want to be part of your big day; they are more than happy to help you and make this day one of the best days in your life. You and your bridesmaids can work on the details and this means you can even delegate some tasks to make the load a bit easier on you.

Leave a comment